• Join our Dream Forward Campaign and compete to win a Celebrity Experience!

  • Click Here!

Clifton Davis

He is an actor, singer, composer, producer, and minister. For more than 40 years, Clifton Davis has shared his unique gifts with audiences and congregations around the world. Davis is probably best known for his 5-year run as Reverend Rueben Gregory on the popular NBC television series, "Amen," which continues in reruns on cable TV. His earlier series, "That's My Mama," served to establish him as a widely- known actor and television star. Raised on Long Island, he began his career in New York City in the Broadway show, Hello Dolly. Six years and five Broadway shows later, Davis headed to Hollywood and the rest is history.

Currently, Davis appears in the recurring role of “Ephraim Ware”, Director of National Intelligence on the CBS hit show, Madam Secretary. Davis has recently completed a 4-year run on Broadway, having originated the role of “Sultan," in the hit Disney musical, “Aladdin."

Davis holds a BA in Theology from Oakwood University and a Master of Divinity degree from Andrews University. Mr. Davis is also the recipient of honorary Doctor of Letters degrees from Lincoln University, Paine College and Edward Waters College, a Doctor of Ministry from Trinity International University and he just received a Doctor of Fine Arts degree from the University of Hartford. He is the recipient of more than 125 awards and citations for his social, civic and spiritual service; Dr. Davis is listed in “Who’s Who in America,” and has been recognized by such organizations as the SCLC, World Vision, the UNCF, and the NAACP. Davis is a Christian minister licensed by St. Luke Baptist Church, New York, NY. His interdenominational ministry spans more than 35 years during which he has evangelized throughout the nation, leading thousands to the love of God through Christ Jesus. For 20 years, he has appeared on Christian television as a perennial host of “Praise the Lord" on the Trinity Broadcasting Network. He has also hosted such notable gospel music specials as “Gospel Superfest,” “Take It to the Bridge,” “The Stellar Awards” and “The Black Achievement Awards.”

Other Staff Members

Advisory Board

Delbert W. Baker, Ph.D.
James Lyons, PhD.
Hon. Connie Mack
Jim Payne
Benjamin Reaves, D.Min.
Carol H. Williams
Willie Woods